Home | Contact NUI  


23 July 2024  

Twenty-Seven Candidates Nominated To Contest Seanad Éireann Election in the NUI Constituency


At the close of nominations today, the Returning Officer, Dr Maurice Manning, Chancellor of NUI declared the following candidates to be properly nominated to contest the Seanad Éireann Election in the NUI constituency:

CANNING, Thomas Paul Gabriel, Civil Engineer
COWLEY, Matthias Walter, Teacher
COYLE, James, Smurfit Business School Graduate, Chartered Accountant , Entrepreneur
CROWN, John, Consultant Doctor
DOORLEY, James, Assistant Director, National Youth Council of Ireland
HEALY, Paddy, Former President, Teachers Union of Ireland
KELLEHER, Declan, Principal Teacher
KENNEDY, John Paul Alexander, Software Engineer
KEOGH, Helen, Chief Executive World Vision Ireland, Chairperson of Dóchas
LANGAN, Mick, Tourism Promoter, Guide and Photographer
LYNAM, Paul, Higher Education Representative
MCCURTIN, David Thomas , Primary School Teacher
MOLLOY, Michael Sean “Mick”, Medical Doctor
MOONEY, Peter, Freelance Radio Producer
MULLEN, Rónán, Senator and Lecturer
Ó BROIN, Eoin, Policy Analyst
O BROLCHÁIN, Niall, Senator
Ó CADHLA, Diarmaid Seán, Fear Gnó
O’CONNELL, Donncha, Lecturer
O’CONNOR, Regina Mary, Political and Legal Advisor, European Parliament
O’DONNELL, Francis Martin, Diplomat, Retired UN Representative
O’DONOGHUE, James, Scientist
O’SHEA FARREN, Linda, Solicitor, Disability Rights Advocate and Member-Nominated Independent Director of EBS
O’SULLIVAN, Bernadine, Teacher and Pensions Campaigner
PRICE, Brendan Mary, Biologist, Director, Irish Seal Sanctuary
QUINN, Feargal, Senator
SULLIVAN, Daniel Kevin, Software Professional

The election will be held by postal ballot. Ballot papers will be despatched to almost 100,000 electors on the NUI Register  from 21 March 2011, and the Close of Poll  is on 27 April 2011 at 11:00am. The election count will take place in the Serpentine Hall, RDS.


« Previous | Next »