Home | Contact NUI  


23 July 2024  

NUI honorary degrees 2016


This year’s National University of Ireland honorary degree conferring ceremony will take place on 1 December 2016. At the ceremony, the Chancellor of the University, Dr Maurice Manning, will confer honorary degrees on the following individuals who have made exceptional contributions in their respective fields:   

Brian Bourke, painter
For his contribution through painting to Irish culture. DFA

Rhona Mahony, Master of the National Maternity Hospital,  Holles Street  
For her contribution to public health and specifically to healthcare for women and infants as Master of the National Maternity Hospital.  DMed

Margaret Mullett, Chair of the Irish Haemochromatosis Association
For her contribution to public service/public health in raising awareness of haemochromatosis.  LLD

Professor Helen Watanabe O’Kelly, Professor of German Literature, University of Oxford
For her contribution to the study of German literature and culture.  DLitt

Professor Gearóid O Tuathaigh, Professor Emeritus in History, NUI Galway
For his contribution to Irish History, the Irish language and Irish public life.  DLitt

Ruairí Quinn, former Minister and leader of the Labour Party         
For his contribution to Irish public life and public service.  LLD