Home | Contact NUI  


23 April 2024  

19 Candidates Nominated to Contest Seanad Éireann Election in the National University of Ireland (NUI) Constituency


At the close of nominations today, the Returning Officer, Dr Maurice Manning, Chancellor of NUI, declared the following candidates to be properly nominated to contest the Seanad Éireann Election in the NUI constituency:

To view a profile of each candidate please visit our Candidates Profiles Page

  1. ALI O’SHEA, Abbas (Director of AFA Consultancy)

  2. BUTLER, Jennifer (Academic – University Lecturer)

  3. COPPINGER, Ruth (Teacher, Campaigner for Workers’ and Womens’ Rights and Climate Justice)

  4. DELAHUNTY, Eoin (Operations Manager)

  5. DEVINE, Karen (University Lecturer)

  6. DOWLING, Eva Elizabeth (Science Communicator and County Councillor)

  7. DOWNEY, Garbhán (Publisher)

  8. FINN, Mick (Youth Officer, Cork ETB: Cork City Cllr (Ind); Former Lord Mayor, Cork City 2018/19)

  9. FINNEGAN, Peter (Change Leader, Member Maynooth University Governing Authority; Mediator; Poet)

  10. HARMON, Laura (Leadership Coordinator, National Women’s Council of Ireland)

  11. HEALY, Michelle (Member of University College Cork Governing Body; Project Manager)

  12. HEARNE, Rory (Lecturer/Assistant Professor Social Policy, Maynooth University)

  13. HIGGINS, Alice-Mary (Senator, Advocate for Equality and Environment)

  14. MATTHEWS, Marcus (Managing Director)

  15. McDOWELL, Michael (Senator and Senior Counsel)

  16. MULLEN, Rónán Thomas (Full-time Public representative (Senator))

  17. PRICE, Brendan Mary (B. Agr. Sc, member, Biol. Inst. Ireland; CEO Irish Seal Sanctuary)

  18. SCANLON, Keith (Electric and Electronic Engineer)

  19. STAUNTON BARRETT, Anne (Retailer with a Degree in Management Information Systems, NUI Galway)

The election will be held by postal ballot. Ballot papers will be posted to over 100,000 electors on the NUI Register from 28 February 2020. 

The Poll will close on Tuesday 31 March at 11.00am. The election count will take place in the Shelbourne Hall, RDS. 

Further information from:

Dr Attracta Halpin
Registration Officer
National University of Ireland
49 Merrion Square
Dublin 2, D02 V583
Ph: 01 4392424
Twitter: @NUIMerrionSq


« Previous