Home | Contact NUI  


13 June 2024  

Chancellor Elected to Royal Irish Academy (RIA)


The Senate of the National University of Ireland congratulates the Chancellor of the University, Dr Maurice Manning on hisGroup Photo Chancellor's Election to RIA election as a member of the Royal Irish Academy. Dr Manning was formally admitted to membership of the Academy today (4pm, Friday, 28 May 2010).
Two former NUI Chancellors, Dr Garret FitzGerald (1997-2009) and Dr T K Whitaker (1976-1997) are current members of the RIA. Dr Eamon de Valera, Chancellor from 1921 to 1975, was also elected as a member of the Academy. Membership of the Academy represents public recognition of academic achievement at the highest level.