Home | Contact NUI  


28 May 2024  

Senate awards higher doctorates on published work



At its meeting in January 2021, the Senate awarded the following higher doctorates on published work:

  1. Professor Peter Conlon: Doctor of Medicine (DMed) Dr Daniel Ennis: Doctor of Science (DSc) Professor Brian O’Connor: Doctor of Literature (DLitt)


Degrees on published work awarded by the National University of Ireland are higher doctorates and are the highest qualifications awarded by the University. They are awarded to scholars who have, over a sustained period, published a substantial body of ground-breaking and influential work in a field of specialisation and who have achieved outstanding distinction internationally in that field.

Professor Peter Conlon is Associate Professor of Medicine and Nephrology at RCSI, consultant nephrologist and Clinical Director of Medicine at Beaumont Hospital. A kidney transplant specialist, his is an authority in the areas of kidney transplantation and inherited kidney disease.

Professor Brian O’Connor is Professor of Philosophy in UCD. He is an authority on German idealism and a world-leading Adorno scholar.

Dr Daniel Ennis, a graduate of UCD, and founder of the Institute of Perception, Richmond Virginia, is a authority is in the domain of sensory studies and mathematical psychology.

Further information from:

National University of Ireland
49 Merrion Square
Dublin 2, D02 V583
Ph: 01 4392424
Twitter: @NUIMerrionSq


« Previous