Home | Contact NUI  


23 July 2024  

NUI Senators

Seanad Éireann is the Upper House of the Irish Legislature and is composed of sixty members. Under Article 18(4) of Bunreacht na hÉireann six senators are elected to Seanad Éireann by university constituencies - three by the graduates of National University of Ireland and three by the graduates of University of Dublin (Trinity College).

A Seanad Éireann election in the university constituencies takes place within 90 days of the dissolution of Dáil Éireann, and is strictly a postal vote. Graduates of the National University of Ireland - other than honorary graduates - who are citizens of Ireland, may register to vote at any time but must have submitted their claim to register by 26th February of any given year in order to be listed in the Register which is revised annually (1st June each year).

In the most recent election (2020), the three senators elected by the NUI constituency were:

Senator Rónán Mullen Senator Rónán Mullen

Senator Michael McDowellSenator Michael McDowell
www michaelmcdowell.ie

Senator Alice-Mary Higgins Senator Alice-Mary Higgins